Links

If you have trouble accessing the following links, it may be because a gremlin has caused havoc.  As such, could you kindly copy and paste into your browser. Naughty gremlins.

New links that have been added to this page are marked with an *.

 

* Thanks to Dianne Cook who has provided the following links for readers of this blog.

Here’s an interesting post on children’s poetry in America http://poetryforchildren.blogspot.com.au/

For any humorous poetry fans out there, you might want to check out THE FUNEVERSE. It’s a free resource for schools and children where poets, illustrators and kids come together to exercise their creative funny bones and write funny verse. http://www.thefuneverse.com

This is the website of Emma Press, UK, which offers a newsletter letting readers know of poetry competitions in the UK and what else is happening there in poetry http://theemmapress.com

* March Madness Poetry (#MMPoetry)

http://www.thinkkidthink.com/

This is the website of Ed de Cario who for the past three years has run an online competition March Madness Poetry (#MMPoetry) which is “an event designed to bring the excitement of the NCAA March Madness tournament to the world of kids’ poetry. 64 poets from around the world participate in the event; together, these poets write 126 new kids’ poems in just 21 days: IT’S MADNESS!”

Competitions:

Don’t forget to check out our ‘Competitions‘ page for upcoming submission deadlines.

Other competition links include:

 

World Poetry Day:

The United Nations describes poetry as another facet of the dialogue among cultures. World Poetry Day (March 21) is a celebration of the contribution made to society by poetry.

Website: www.un.org/en/events/poetryday/

 

Collections and Anthologies:

The following publishers have published collections and/or anthologies of Australian children’s poetry since 2000:

 

Australian Poets Online:

 

Articles on Australian Poetry:

 

Poetry Writing Tips:

 

Poetry Links (in general):

New links that have been added are  listed first *.

 

On the NSW Premier’s Reading Challenge site, there is a poetry category for most age divisions:

*stage 3/4 – poetry https://products.schools.nsw.edu.au/prc/booklist/listBooksByGenre.html?genreId=15&levelId=2

*stage 5/6 – poetry https://products.schools.nsw.edu.au/prc/booklist/listBooksByGenre.html?genreId=15&levelId=3

*stage 7-9 – poetry https://products.schools.nsw.edu.au/prc/booklist/listBooksByGenre.html?genreId=15&levelId=4

 

Where to Buy Children’s Poetry Books:

PreschoolthroughGrade3

 

Reviews of Children’s Poetry Books:

 

Australian Children’s Poets’ Websites  (alphabetical order):

NB: Bios for Australian children’s poets listed on this website can be viewed at Poets A-Z

Duncan Ball            http://www.duncanball.com.au

Dianne (Di) Bates http://www.enterprisingwords.com.au

Janeen Brian         http://janeenbrian.com/

Mark Carthew       http://www.markcarthew.com.au/

Sherryl Clark        http://www.sherrylclark.com

Bill Condon           http://www.enterprisingwords.com.au

Meredith Costain http://www.meredithcostain.com

Vashti Farrer       http://www.vashtifarrer.com/

Dale Harcombe   http://www.daleharcombe.com

Libby Hathorn     http://www.libbyhathorn.com

Steven Herrick     http://www.stevenherrick.com.au

Jackie Hosking    http://jackiehoskingpio.wordpress.com

Doug MacLeod      http://www.dougmacleod.com.au

Geoffrey McSkimming http://geoffreymcskimming.com

Lorraine Marwood http://lorrainemarwood.com

Teena Raffa-Mulligan http://teenaraffamulligan.com

Sally Odgers       http://www.sallyodgers.com

Helen Ross         http://www.helenross.com.au

Claire Saxby       http://members.optusnet.com.au/merck/

Stephen Whiteside http://www.stephenwhiteside.com.au

Edel Wignell      http://www.edelwignell.com.au

 

2 thoughts on “Links

  1. I am interested in joining your band of Australian Children’s Poets and have just subscribed to follow your blog by email. How do I submit my details and a selection of poems for consideration?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s